Nursing monkeys

This is the best nursing story ever in my world. Pnut is still nursing. Only about 10 seconds a side at bedtime, but still nursing. I am feeling done and have been trying to figure out what to do about it. How much her crying do I want to do if she would just stop on her own in a few weeks anyway? Will she stop in a few weeks? What if this goes on forever? Oy.

Last night rocked! I put her to bed with her two monkeys, dada and dada. These monkeys are a very agreeable chatty pair and have become a very sweet part of getting her ready for bed. They pick out books, turn pages, drink water and generally like everything that she does.

I finally got her and those monkeys into bed and she pipes up dada and dada and I need mama milk. This is not the first time I have fed monkeys. When she was little she would stop nursing so that monkey could take a turn. I picked up those monkeys and they pretended to nurse and got tucked in. I asked her if she wanted to nurse like dada and dada. Yes. She said yes! A very short pretend nurse and she was back in bed. We might get there thanks to two very fine monkeys.

3 responses

  1. Aw, that is adorable! We’ve been done with nursing for about 5 months now, and it’s a very bittersweet thing. Monkey is doing great, but every now and then he still says, “Gogo night-night.” Gogo is what he called nursing. It makes me tear up every. single. time. Sob.

  2. I love how toddlers figure this out. It makes the end of nursing so much easier on everyone. She may continue to go back and forth for awhile, or she might just be done, but the beauty of this time is that you can talk about it! I adore this story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

