Puffer almost made me clean out the house and pack

Puffer’s posts here and here made me a little crazy. I started planning what I needed to sell on craigslist, looking around at everything I needed to get rid of and contemplating what to pack. Also points, what am I doing about points?! I don’t have any hotel points. Do I have to stay in a hotel to get them?

Luckily I went down this rabbit hole before and am a little more grounded now. Right now we are staying put (with some vacations like Hawaii and the Queer family ski trip). There is a big trip to South East Asia  in the works that we are saving for and we are over half way there. We are not going to become a fully nomadic family (at least for right now). There are some parts of me that it really calls to, but I also really love where  I live and love having a home. I read this blog post and it really stuck with me. They talked about the idea of “roots with wings.”  Something along those lines feels more right. Lots of longer travel especially in the dark winter months, but still with a home.

Now back to Puffer. I am thrilled to bits for her and her family and will be following their every move.  In the meantime, I am cleaning out our house, selling things and preparing to live with a little less space so that we can build a coach house in the yard. Living with less is good and will be part of what makes us free. So for right now, I am focusing on enjoying each day and letting the travel thoughts hum in the background. No rabbit holes 🙂

2 responses

  1. I totally want to travel! Or, spend 6-8 weeks living in a different place every year – we have alot of friends who do that to escape the heat here in July/August.

    I have the right job – I am remote 90% of the time…we just have other stuff to deal with that prevents us of roaming. Maybe in a few years…

Leave a Reply

